About Xavier

Xavier Bonner - saxophonist, composer, and arranger.

Born and raised in Detroit, Michigan he has had the opportunity to be taught/mentored by musicians such as Marcus Belgrave, Marion Hayden, Buddy Budson, Russ Miller, Steve Woods, and Wendell Harrison. Coming from a musical family Xavier knew at a early age the importance and value of music, which prompted his beginnings in the music scene. In the summer of 2013, at age 16, he toured Europe (Germany and France) with the Blue Lake Jazz Ensemble leading the saxophone section under the direction of Dave Jensen. Since then he has gone on to perform at the Detroit Jazz Festival with the Detroit All City Combo and the Week At Wayne Youth All Stars.

Now, as a bandleader Xavier Bonner makes his way into music scene with purpose and vision. "I want to build upon what has come before me and take the music further beyond my limits." It is important for him to honor the spirit of the music that was, but not by standing still, but to propel music and artistry further. Some of his main influences as a musician include Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Wayne Shorter, Sonny Rollins, and Albert Ayler. "It’s not just their music that inspires me but it is also their philosophy on life that motivates me to be a better human being." Xavier wants to carry on that same philosophy through his music, to bring "awareness" to the many facets of life.

A Place Far Away

Xavier Bonner

Bonnaire Music LLC


  1. Voices of the Unheard
  2. Raining Fire
  3. America
  4. The 3 Faces
  5. A Place Far Away
  6. Moonflower
  7. Atlantis
  8. Ghosts


  • Xavier Bonner, Tenor Saxophone & Flute
  • Brendon Davis, Piano
  • Mohan Ritsema, Bass
  • Tariq Gardner, Drums
  • Allen Dennard, Trumpet(Tracks 3 & 5)
  • Jeffrey Trent, Bass Clarinet(Tracks 7 & 8)
  • Lance Gulley, Electric Bass(Track 8)
  • Wayne Ramocan, Drums(Track 8)
  • Darnell Kendricks, Vocals(Track 2)

  • Produced by Xavier Bonner
  • Recorded at the Sound Shop Studio, Macomb, Michigan on September 30th, 2017
    • Recording Engineer: Josh Ford
    • Recording Mixing: Josh Ford
    • Recording Mastering: Quentin Dennard
    • Album Cover by: Ivan Azaan Tarver 
    • Photography by: Natalie Anwar
    • Album Release: May 10th, 2018

Dear Listener: "A Place Far Away" is a concept album that explores the themes of change, growth, and peace. During the creation of these compositions it was my intent to create melodies that grasp the listener in a sincere way. It is my hope that this music sparks self reflection and positivity. I also want to give a special thanks to all the musicians, artists, and sound engineers involved. "To one day may you reach your Place Far Away.”"

Available now on multiple streaming platforms


Catch Xavier at one of these upcoming gigs...

Contact Xavier


Ghosts - Xavier Bonner

Black Narcissus

More Videos on YouTube